The Beacon of Light

Who was your most influential teacher? Why?

In this era where the so-called social media influencers are increasingly directing our lifestyle, it has become imperative to keep our counsel to our own self.

Instead of getting swayed  by the  people, looking to further their own selfish agenda, we must look for the real teachers.

The great teacher is the one who shows us the  proper way to proceed in life and points out the right direction when it has turned to the wrong bend.

For me, the most influential teacher is my mother in law, who is more than ninety years old. She has fought all the battles in life courageously and has amassed a lifetime of wisdom.

I consider her as my true teacher upon whom I can always rely. I genuinely value her affection, guidance, and friendship for life.

After losing my own mother more than a decade ago, she had never let me feel the void. I can talk to her and take advice in any matter, and she always readily tells me the right course of action.

As the old age is taking hold of her, still she strive to keep herself mentally and physically fit. Though she has toΒ  spend most of her time in bed, the zest for life is still kindled inside her. I still draw inspiration from her.

Whenever we go to meet her, we always entreat her to stay among us for as long as she can. Because she is indeed the beacon, showing us the correct way forward.

When I put her frail hands into mine and looked into her eyes, teardrops started rolling through my eyes and said, ” How could I let you go, mother!”

I am not born to her yet don’t know why I feel a connection, a unique attachment linking her soul to mine.

Remaining silent, she told in a low but firm voice,” It’s your affection, which is keeping  me from going away.” and it is true.

Published by MousumiSays

An ardent crusader to make the world a better and safer place to live in. Likes to remind the mankind their basic instinct of resilience in the face of adversity.

6 thoughts on “The Beacon of Light

  1. Aw this is such a beautiful story! ❀️ Your mother-in-law is truly an incredible woman. There’s so much out there competing for our attention, but true wisdom comes from those who genuinely care about us and want to see us grow.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started